The Declining Winter started out as the meanderings of me, Mr Richard Vincent Adams now of West Yorkshire. A musical project to keep me occupied whilst my other group is (still) on hiatus and also so I can pretend that I’m not just an office worker by trade. Here’s a bit of history…..


Our first 7″ ‘The Future Sound of Hip Hop parts 1 and 2’ (2008) was housed in 100% recycled packaging made from old 7” sleeves turned inside out with individual photo. The initial copies came with a bonus CD of remixes by Epic 45, Remote Viewer, Part Timer and Northstation.

The first album ‘Goodbye, Minnesota’ came out on Ireland’s Rusted Rail records. Again it has recycled, handmade sleeves. There were two pressings, each with slightly different artwork. Then there was a limited edition vinyl pressing in April 2010 on Public House records.

The next Declining Winter record proper was entitled ‘Haunt the Upper Hallways’ and appeared on Home Assembly Music in luxurious 7″ AND CD format with. The 7″ contained three songs and the CD contained the same three songs plus 7 bonus tracks including a remix of the San Francisco band Carta. Initial copies came with a bonus CD of remixes by the likes of Strategy, Winter North Atlantic, Fieldhead, Northerner, James Yates.

In 2010 we released our ‘Official World Cup Theme 2010’ (Home Assembly Music) to an unsuspecting world. Initial copies came with bonus postcards and panini stickers of the band.  We followed this up in October with “Scenes from the Back Bedroom Window” a very limited 3″ CDr release on Secret Furry Hole.

Nothing happened until 2013 when we released ‘Fragment 5’ a 10″ record as part of Monopsone’s Fragment series of releases.

We then branched out into the world of cassettes with the ‘Lost Songs’ tape. Its now sold out but you can get it from Bandcamp.

Then came 2015 the year they are all still talking about where we released ‘Home For Lost Souls’ (LP/CD Home Assembly), ‘Endless Scenery’ (ltd CD on Sounds in Silence) and a split 12″ with Isnaj Dui on Rural Colours.

2018 was the next busy year with the ‘Belmont Slope’ LP/CD (Home Assembly) and the ‘Chimneys etc’ and ‘Return to Branch’ 7″s (Signal and Fissile).

In 2019 I broke my ankle so everything was limited to home recordings. Luckily I was asked to contribute to two interesting projects  – UTE a multimedia project with a 7″ and a beer. Then Paper Piano issued Why Clanks a book and CDr that documented the journey from Saltaire to Silsden Football Club.

All our available records are carried by the nice people at Norman Records and many of them are available to stream/buy at Bandcamp.


We have occasionally been asked to remix people. So far we have ‘altered’ tracks by Aarktica, Northerner, Fieldhead, Carta, Arthur and Martha, Team Forest, Brave Timbers, The Green Kingdom,  amongst others.


The Declining Winter live band did consist of Richard Vincent Adams, Paul Elam, Gareth S Brown, Sarah Kemp, Elaine Reynolds and Richard Morris . Other ex and temporary members include James Yates, Stuart Wilson and Graham Jones. We made our debut on March 20th 2008 at the Packhorse in Leeds and have since played with the likes of Stars of the Lid, A Silver Mount Zion, Remember Remember, Winter North Atlantic, the Durutti Column, Bracken, Mogwai, epic45, Eric Chenaux, Konntinent and many more.

We reconvened in 2015 for a few shows with a new line up of Richard Adams, Paul Elam, Mick Harrison and Chris Lanigan.  Matty Jones-Green replaced Paul Elam then Jo Rose temporarily replaced Matty Jones-Green for our winter tour of 2018.

For our 2020 tour, Gareth Brown has returned to replace Mick Harrison and Matty Jones-Green is back instead of Jo Rose.

As well as this blog you can follow us on  Facebook and Twitter

You can also subscribe to our mailing list by clicking here with the word ‘Subscribe’ in the header.

7 Responses to About

  1. jeff zeigler says:

    hey man

    been a big fan of Hood forever and am really digging the Declining Winter records. Received “haunt the upper hallways” today and it’s great. was wondering if you might be interested in taking on a remix for my band, Arc in Round.

    LP can be found here:


    let me know what you think, thanks


  2. Rob Gries says:

    Hey guys,

    Found your Goodbye Minnesota LP at Princeton Record Exchange in the used bin last winter, and it is amazing. I’m a big fan and hope that you guys keep it up.


    • The Declining Winter says:

      Hey Rob thanks for rescuing it from the used bin. pretty hard to come by now that one! thanks for listening and very pleased you like the record, cheers, Richard

  3. Shu Naka says:

    You have followers here in Japan on the other side of the globe.
    Apologies for not keeping track of you (and your brother) since Hood.
    But I’m snatching up your music right now (and paying full price since you deserve it).
    Hope you keep on doing what you’re doing because it’s beautiful. And haunting. And inspiring.

    • The Declining Winter says:

      Thank you so much for your kind words – and thank you for buying the latest stuff. We’ll definitely keep doing it so long as people are listening! Best wishes from rainy old England

  4. Reece Ballif says:

    I found your music on a retweet by Epic45, and love the new album. I can’t stop listening to it. I have been looking for something new for a long time, and this is it! Haunting bliss! Now in my rotation with July Skies, Slowdive, and Epic45. Thank you!

    • The Declining Winter says:

      Hi Reece. Thanks so much for your kind words. I’m very happy that you are enjoying the new album. I have Epic 45 to thank for making you aware of us!. best wishes, Richard

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

20 + 20 =